Cocktails, Mixes, and Specialty Recipies

To celebrate the end of a long week, I’m having a small dinner party.

I’m a little new to the liquor game, but since I’m kicking off this thread, I’ll share a simple recipe.

**Wot you'll need**
1 2L Bottle Cranberry Cocktail
500ml Vodka

1. Pour two glasses of cranberry cocktail. 
2. Consume.
3. Carefully pour the Vodka into the now-opened bottle
4. Seal bottle.
5. Shake well.
6. Pour in glasses. For best results, serve "On the rocks".
7. Add garnish.
8. Serve!

(I didn’t say it would be a good recipe.)

That’s wot I’m doing tonight. What’s yours?

5 Likes

Grate enough ginger into a saucepan until the saucepan is almost full of ginger. Get the juice in there too. This will take some time and a lot of ginger.

Add 4-6 large tablespoons of honey. Peel, chop and add 1 large or two smaller lemons and about three limes.

Simmer for a few hours. The liquid will be bitter, but that is okay. Strain the liqud and allow it to cool. Pour some into a glass – around 1/16th of the glass’ volume will do but you can adjust to taste. Fill the rest of the glass with mineral water* and stir. Adjust to taste.

*You may leave some room for liquor. Your choice.

3 Likes

I attended a talk a while back about the history of cocktails.

We had five speakers, and each part of the presentation had its own cocktail to go along with it.

Interesting stuff, all of it- covering the history of the cocktail, how the science of taste, how to balance alcohol/sweet/sour in a recipe, and a bit about the resurgence in gin distilling that has happened in recent years.

Anyway, of all the cocktails I tried, this is my favourite from the night:

Bourbon Sazerac
Ingredients:
1 sugar cube
Bitters
Absinthe
Bourbon
Ice

Directions:
In a mixing glass, drop a dash of bitters onto the sugar cube. dissolve this with 10ml chilled water and stir.
Add 3 measures of Bourbon to the mixing glass, add ice and stir.