Programming

Not to be confused with Deprogramming.

This thread is to talk about software development, ask and answer questions, and so on.

My name is @ficuswhisperer. I’ve been a professional software developer for the past 20ish years. AMA, or let’s just talk code.

12 Likes
10 PRINT "Hello, ficuswhisperer!"
20 GOTO 10
10 Likes

10 Likes
  • What’s the most positive reaction you get from non-programmers when they find out what you do?
  • Desktop, embedded, mainframe, web, mobile app, or other/mixed?
5 Likes

For the most part people just ask me if I can fix their computers. :confused:

Mostly enterprise level stuff; server/services, and some UI and desktop code. I also work on developing SDKs and such. I like building frameworks for others to build on. I do occasional web development (which I don’t particularly enjoy but it’s a necessary evil). I also do some mobile and embedded stuff for fun when I can but these days work takes so much out of me I don’t spend much time pursuing side projects.

8 Likes
8 Likes

And here I sit as a sysadmin tired of people asking if I can code this really cool app idea they have.

I dabble with hobbiest level stuff. I’m trying to get some Python code to do something useful on a raspberry pi right now. Actually three projects that I flip between depending on how frustrated I get with one.

9 Likes

Yep. And the funny thing is, often I can. It’s just a matter of googling the issue. Someone else has had that issue for sure, and someone else has posted the answer.

I’m an electrical engineer. Not a sysadmin, not a developer or programmer, but something else entirely. Somehow people still misinterpret that to mean “computers” when it really doesn’t.

8 Likes

If it has a power cord - you’re it. Fax machine? Call IT. Copier? Call IT? Microwave? Call IT? Espresso Machine? Call…nevermind, IT is already working on.

5 Likes

Back to Programming though…