Publishing Rights

Have we ever stated what our policy is on this front? I think we should sooner, rather than later.

Comments and news posts are one thing (kind of) in that most people don’t care about republishing. But what about creative works? When someone posts a song or (part of) a story… What kind of rights does Elsewhere claim?

Clear planning and spelling out of these can protect both the creatives and the site.

2 Likes

Here’s what I think is the relevant section of the TOS:
https://bbs.elsewhere.cafe/tos#3

I am no lawyer, but I think that does a reasonable job of preventing others from profiting from your work, while leaving the original author the flexibility to license the content out as they see fit in other venues.

3 Likes

Hmmm… I shall have to be very careful about which sketches and scores I put up here.

3 Likes

I use the same CC on everything so hum.

I don’t CC anything at all. I don’t anticipate making a living at what I do (and it’s probably a good thing I’m retired), but, if there is any commercial value at all to what I do, I would prefer to retain the right to realise it.

That being said, I would definitely prefer to see a limited term to copyright (20 years would be good). Initially, the intent of copyright laws was to grant a limited monopoly to establish one’s “brand”, in effect. On the one hand, this was to break the indefinite-length Royal monopolies that preceded copyright laws, and on the other, to grant the creators a breathing space wherein they could attempt to make a living at their work without being undercut by robber baron publishers. It was not to guarantee a continuous income stream for three generations.

I personally would prefer my heirs and their heirs to do something useful with their lives (not that they will become rich overnight when I kick the bucket, but in principle, you understand). :wink:

2 Likes