Watching Others Play Games

I’m curious what people think of streams and LPs around here. I know that I like several Let’s Plays basically because they’re poscasts with a game going on in the background (my favorite being Super Beard Bros or Scary Game Squad), but I thought the concept was idiotic until I started playing D&D with people a lot younger than me. They showed clips, I started watching popular videos, and then eventually I found myself following a few people. At this point I find myself watching/listening to a few tabletop RPG streams/podcasts, and some like Adventure Zone are something I get excited to see pop up with a new episode.

Anyways, I was wondering what people thought of watching other people play games of all kinds. I know TableTop gets some mention on BB, and I know Critical Role has grown pretty big in the past two years… but I really like watching people playing games like Oxenfree or Until Dawn that I want to experience in some way but will never have time to play.

3 Likes

I don’t get it. Maybe it’s my age, but I would rather play a game than watch someone else play (and talk over the top of it).

I think South Park had an episode or three about a generational gap between people who love watching streamers and people who don’t get the attraction. I was definitely Kyle in that one.

What probably bugs me the most is when I’m on YouTube trying to see how a boss can be beaten - or just wanting to see a good cutscene again - and it’s been uploaded by some teenager trying to be the next PewDiePie and loudly talking BS over the top of it.

Anyway, I’ve got some kids to chase off my lawn, BRB.

8 Likes

I don’t mind a lets play, but the histrionics with some just turn me off right away. Why people think PewDiePie and others in that style are amusing totally boggles me but hey people like Gwen Stefani too… takes all kinds I guess.

6 Likes