Drawing and Painting Software?

What are your preferences? What are your needs?

I have tried LibreOffice, NeoOffice, and Graphic, but with my photosensitivity, I need something less flashy.

I am a tabletop game designer, and need good drawing software, for counter design.

I need to be able to align objects. I need to be able to easily add and align text. I need to be able to assign distinct colors to each of 20 factions.

I also need to be able to do this without severe migraines. Unfortunately, flashing triggers my migraines. In LibreOffice and OpenOffice, both text cursors and object selections flash. In NeoOffice, I can use a hack to keep text cursors from flashing, but I canā€™t keep object selections from flashing. In Graphic, object selections donā€˜t flash, but I canā€™t keep text cursors from flashing. So with my photosensitivity getting more severe, I canā€™t use these apps.

I also need to be able to do this despite coordination problems. Fortunately, most apps contain alignment tools which help.

I want to be able to ensure that the color combinations wonā€™t be problems for colorblind players either. Unfortunately, I need to use some red pieces and some green pieces.

Any suggestions?

Thanks.

3 Likes

I use GIMP and (briefly) Paint.NET. GIMP suffers from load times and has a loadbar animation. Iā€™ll have to give Paint.NET a spin again before I can confirm itā€™s photosensitive-safe

4 Likes

I went and offered cookies to the Google. I got this as a response.

Drawing, Painting, ART!!!

2 Likes

It might be easier to control the cursor behaviour from your operating system. There should be a setting or plug-in to make it behave consistently across the board. I know Windows has this; Iā€™m not sure about other operating systems.

1 Like

Thanks.

Is there readable documentation for Gimp? I can only find this: https://docs.gimp.org/2.8/en/

1 Like

Iā€™m using a Mac, after a lot of hardware and driver issues using Windows machines with Linux.