Regional Dialects, ah mean, ah mean, Diahlex

My feeling is that English (and how it is written) is part language, part art form, and part puzzle. It’s there for communication, but the quirks are all part of its history and can be enjoyed for itself. And trying to get it correct can be a thought of as an enjoyable game. I wouldn’t change it for anything.

6 Likes

It’s consistent within groups. My mum learned English spelling (moving from Dutch) at age 7 by looking for patterns and then remembering which pattern group different words belonged to. Obviously she wouldn’t have explained it that way at age 7, but using simpler vocabulary, that’s how she explained it to me when I was 6.

By the time she was 10 she was winning spelling bees – pretty good considering she still had an accent.

When I studied History of Language in university, I discovered her pattern groups matched closely to major historical shifts in English. So the evidence is there if you look for it.

6 Likes

You can determine how to pronounce and spell words that are tough through thorough thought,
though.

*cough*

13 Likes

I bough to your superior kuhnowledge.

5 Likes

I took Spanish in high school. The first day our teacher taught us the sounds of the letters, then the second or third day gave us a spelling bee. Most of the class got over 90%. Spelling bees simply don’t exist in many languages, because spelling is self-evident. English spelling has some rules, but much of it is just memory work.

11 Likes

Consonants:

I mostly followed Gothic consonants, transliterated into Roman letters. I used single b for the sound in venting and double bb for the sound in blaming. Gothic usually uses single b, with value depending on position, but uses double bb in loanwords like sabbato (saturday). Gothic like Greek uses double gg for the final sound in venting.

Vowels: