Whatchya Workin' On, O Creatives?

Unfurl your egos and your hopes that someone not a family member will tell you that your creative endeavors are not being wasted. What are you working on in your creative lives that you feel you want to share with the rest of the world?

I recently started drawing again after something like a decade since I was making webcomics, and about five years since I sold off my wacom tablet. Just pen sketches with a lovely cheap Morning Glory fountain pen.

It’s unlikely I’ll go back to making webcomics tho. The wild west of 1999-2005 was a long time ago now and the web is pretty much settled around a few big platforms. Gone are the days of getting cheap hosting and trying to win over the masses with your spunk. I’m enjoying just drawing for the hell of it and not needing to worry about regular updating for a fickle crowd who much prefer video game jokes anyway.

I’m always still taking pictures of my experiences as an expat though (edit: Instagram “influencer” spam got to the point that I deleted my account to deny them just one single space to self-promote cuz fuck them). One thing I like about photography is that a shit shot only took a fraction of a second to make but a shit drawing took hours. Yet I have no hesitation to trash a shit drawing but a shit photo I run through GIMP “just one more time” to get it to look good.

Anyway… Title.^^^ Do share.

16 Likes

Trying to put on a production of Peter Pan with the students of my school. Selected this one because my boss informed me that she wanted to include all the students and Pan is full of groups which you can shuffle people into, pirates, lost boys, (Indians and Mermaids too, if I hadn’t cut them out).

Oy. I’ve got a fairly dependable Wendy and Peter Pan and I’m playing Hook. No one else reliably shows up for rehearsals. Hopefully with summer vacation things will improve.

8 Likes